I have not been able to take photos of my meals for the past few days, as the battery in my camera died. While I wait for the new one to arrive — I will post some recipes that Eric (my husband) and I have been enjoying the last few days. I submit for your approval:

Corny Cornbread (served with white chili)

2 cups cornmeal
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
combine.

2 cups plain yogurt
3 egg whites (beaten)
mix in.

2 cups fresh or frozen corn
1 tsp. mild green chilies (minced)
Mix in. Pour into 2.5 quart casserole dish. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

 

 

White Chili

1/2 medium onion (chopped)
1/2 cup green pepper (chopped)
3 stalks celery (chopped)
1/4 cup mild green chilies
2 cloves garlic (minced) 
In a frying pan, saute 1 tsp. olive oil with ingredients until tender. Set aside.

2 tbsp. butter
2 tbsp. flour
2 cups chicken/vegetable broth
1/2 cup low-fat milk
In a soup pot, melt butter, blend in flour and cook briefly. Stir in broth and milk. Cook over medium heat, stirring continuously, until sauce thickens.

2 cups cooked white (canellini) beans
2 cups corn
1 cup cooked chicken (optional)
1/4 cup low-fat sour cream
1 tsp. poultry seasoning
1 tsp. cumin
Add to soup pot with sauteed vegetables and heat through. Season with fresh cilantro, salt and pepper.

One last one!

Summer Squash Bake

6 cups zucchini or yellow squash (or mix) chopped
1 small onion minced
Combine with enough water to cook until tender, 3-4 minutes. Drain and set aside.

1 can condensed cream soup (I like cream of mushroom)
I cup plain yogurt
1 cup shredded carrots
I cup fresh mushrooms
Mix together in a separate bowl.

2 TBSP. fresh oregano (or 2 tsp. dried)
1 cup cooked chicken (optional)
Add and mix thoroughly. Stir into squash mixture.

1/4 cup butter (melted)
2-3 cups herbed croutons or stuffing mix
Mix together in a separate bowl. Put half on the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking pan. Add the squash mixture and top with the remaining croutons. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

All recipes taken from the “Simply In Season: Recipes that celebrate fresh, local foods in the spirit of More-With-Less” by Mary-Beth Lind and Cathleen Hockman-Wert

 

Let me know if you try and/or enjoy any of these! Hopefully my camera will be back up and running soon!

